The Long and Winding Road

NOVEMBER 13

[Written while in Uganda]

Dusty Road 3 (band w)

Am I short – changing the spiritual process of the Holy Spirit? In my desire to be delivered from pain and suffering, I think I overlook part of where God is revealing Himself and missing something quite valuable in where the Holy Spirit is trying to take me and do in me. “The suffering of Christ are not those of ordinary men…” Oswald Chambers says, “… He suffered according to the Will of God.” Chambers also goes on to say the way of God in traveling in His Will is through suffering. And, as Chambers states, it is always a long and difficult road.

SONY DSC

So where am I taking short cuts? There is a reason we are called to endure and be persistent in the midst of our sufferings: so we will not miss one thing in all that God is making of us. I can’t afford to short – change His process – there will be something of great value I will need on down His road. There will come a moment when I may be able to look back and say “Now I see Lord…” and be glad for what I learned in my suffering. He equips us much heavier in our trouble then He can in any triumphs we might enjoy.

I am being strengthened for tomorrow even as He gives me strength to endure today. When I am found in Christ, I will find His strength when I share in His sufferings. Peace, Sean Gutteridge

Today’s Scripture:

1 Peter 4:12-13

12 Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you.

13 But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings, that you may also rejoice and be glad when his glory is revealed.

One thought on “The Long and Winding Road

Leave a Reply

