Divinely Cultivated By Love

NOVEMBER 20

[Written while in Uganda]

“Divine love and natural love cannot remain without cultivating. – Oswald Chambers”

SONY DSC

Nothing can separate me from the Love of Christ. Things will unravel from the inside out quickly when I lose sight of this, even in the most difficult moments. God’s is intentional and purposeful but also just as spontaneous as human love. But where our love is sporadic and unpredictable, there is always reason behind every act and part of God’s love. Chambers states “though love be spontaneous it must be maintained by discipline.”

The more I cultivate it, the more often it begins to be continually poured out through me in all situations… and just as I am saturated by God’s Love it won’t be long before everyone I am around will begin to be saturated & affected by it, too.

Am I cultivating love so that, like God’s Love, it can become more intentional and far less sporadic? It doesn’t take much to maintain the Love of God and when I consistently cultivate it I will find the love poured out from me will nourish and influence others more then I could ever believe. This is the divine Love that I desperately desire to see within me. Though not quite there, I will get there quicker the more I continue to cultivate it with the help of God’s Holy Spirit. Even as I am cultivating His love within me, He is cultivating me BY His Love. Peace, Sean Gutteridge

 

Today’s Scripture: Hebrews 13:1-3

1 Let brotherly love continue.

2 Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.

3 Remember those who are in prison, as though in prison with them, and those who are mistreated, since you also are in the body.

Leave a Reply

