The Pursuit of Perfection

NOVEMBER 22

IMG_2523

Christian perfection isn’t human perfection… Christian perfection is the perfection of a relationship found in God. I’ve been trying to be the perfect human. Despite knowing this is a vain pursuit, I try none the less. Being Holy is far more attainable then being perfect. In fact, nowhere in God’s Word does it say we are called to be perfect but we ARE called to seek Holiness. We have it within us to be Holy.

While I may not be able to obtain perfection, I CAN have a perfect relationship in Jesus Christ. I can find perfection in my relationship with God. By continually pressing forward in making perfection in Christ my own what I really doing is seeking to obtain as much of Christ as possible. Paul states that He has already made me His own and all I seek to do is begin to reciprocate the same. By my attempt to do so and having a deep and sincere desire to this end, I will be found by God already buried deep in the perfect relationship with His Son… even as He continues to build and improve upon that perfection daily.

Peace, Sean G.

 

Today’s ScripturePhilippians 3:12

12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own

Leave a Reply

