Tim Keller: The Hope in Our Sorrow

December 3rd

“The reason we can have hope in suffering is because our suffering is not the end of our story—our resurrection is” ~ Tim Keller

SONY DSC

Disappointment is such a difficult thing to teach our kids how to navigate through. How we handle disappointment tells so much about our own character and the character of God residing within us. I understand, however, that I have difficulty teaching my children how to properly handle their disappointment because I haven’t learned how to do so myself. They learn most by what they witness and are subjected to.

Are my words hollow and empty? Or am I speaking from a place of authentic honesty and experience? Sometimes, my greatest and most effective words are admitting to them that I struggle in disappointment, too. Compassion and empathy can be our most effective emotions even when we cannot find the right words of comfort for those we love most dearly. And though it may not seem so in the moment, the compassion, empathy and understanding of another’s disappointment will be remembered long after our words and well-articulated speeches of insight and wisdom will be. Navigating through disappointment’s rough waters with our children and anyone else we care about brings far greater comfort then merely showing them how best to navigate these dangerous waters. It’s not fun. It’s the worst assignment given us as parents. But in so doing, we are giving them something they need more then anything else… a healthy dose of Godly character.

Peace to you, SAG

Today’s Scripture:

Lamentations 3:19-24

19 Remember my affliction and my wanderings, the wormwood and the gall!

20 My soul continually remembers it and is bowed down within me.

21 But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope:

22 The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end;

23 they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

24 “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.”

Leave a comment