He Will Stoop Low

June 13

If EPIC Failure leads to EPIC Greatness, well… I’m on the right track!

IMG_2383

My life feels void of any Epic greatness, sprinkled throughout with nothing more then one Epic failure after another. I am drowning in the spit of my own ambition and well thought-out plans. I need to read the story of Nehemiah again. Or the story of Ester. Or even of David. The going is tedious and slow in the valley, sometimes even slower then it is climbing the mountain. But for different reasons. In the valley, it is cold and dark. Danger and death lurk round each corner. There are bandits and wild beasts down in the valley and our fear and caution slows with each step. Sometimes it’s hard to see any progress made in the valley. Climbing the mountain is more strenuous physically where the strain down below is more mental and emotional. The adrenaline and excitement pushes us further on up but it takes discipline and faith to keep us plodding onward down low.

The issue is trust in both places but faith dissipates more quickly in our valleys while it hangs with us like the mist as we climb. God feels closer when I climb but strangely absent the lower I get. He is just as close down here as He is up there! I just struggle at times believing that He’d stoop down here to meet me. He will stoop low to bring me high. He does and He will… when I call on Him.

Peace, to you today. Sean G.

 

Today’s Scripture: 2 Samuel 23:2-7

2 “The Spirit of the LORD speaks by me; his word is on my tongue.

3 The God of Israel has spoken; the Rock of Israel has said to me: When one rules justly over men, ruling in the fear of God,

4 he dawns on them like the morning light, like the sun shining forth on a cloudless morning, like rain that makes grass to sprout from the earth.

5 “For does not my house stand so with God? For he has made with me an everlasting covenant, ordered in all things and secure. For will he not cause to prosper all my help and my desire?

6 But worthless men are all like thorns that are thrown away, for they cannot be taken with the hand;

7 but the man who touches them arms himself with iron and the shaft of a spear, and they are utterly consumed with fire.”

2 thoughts on “He Will Stoop Low

  1. The upside to being in a valley is knowing there is another mountain top ahead…..so long as you continue forward, one step at a time. As in mountain climbing, the safe way is not straight “as the crow flies”, but includes avoiding or going over obstacles! Valleys give us an opportunity to “reload our life backpacks with the supplies we will need for our always continuing journey.

    Like

Leave a comment